Chapter 1 : My Day

21-07-2016_22-22-09

This is me. My name is Claire and let’s just say I’m a little peculiar. I live in a town, that’s, well, not really a town anymore. Some sort of nuclear disaster (I don’t read newspapers, not that there are any to read nowadays) which left my town destroyed. It’s not safe to leave home – unless you are going to work that is, and there’s no way of getting anything into our town. That means that we have only the cheapest of products, and we can only actually add to our homes on Sundays, so please don’t judge my humble abode too harshly. Not only that, the nuclear disaster seems to have altered my own appearance slightly, not by much, but you may still notice the pink tips of my hair and my pink iris’. I never was fond of the colour, but I’ve grown to quite like it now.

21-07-2016_22-26-50

This is how I generally spend my days. I start off with a game of chess (against myself) to get my brain going.

21-07-2016_22-29-35

Then I move onto the punching bag – it’s important to keep fit; being healthy physically means that you will be healthy mentally, or so I have been told.

21-07-2016_22-30-29

Sometimes, like today, I will even read a book, generally about romance. It’s hard to find any of that around now.

21-07-2016_22-32-09

I like to pop outside to get some fresh air. This man’s face is all I see most of the time now, everyone is so disheartened after the accident. I’m not though, I’m a very optimistic person.

21-07-2016_22-33-04

Other than work (which is what keeps me sane most of the time), making others happy and talking to them on the street is the only socialization I get with other human beings.

21-07-2016_22-34-24

I enjoy making people happy. I feel that in these hard times, people need to see a smiley face like mine to brighten up their day.

21-07-2016_22-38-11

But although I am happy, I do get sad. I sit down and I look at the empty chair opposite mine, wishing I had someone there to play chess with me. But I don’t.

21-07-2016_22-39-44

Today though, was different. As I was walking down the sidewalk, getting some of the not so fresh air, I glanced at a man with a funny mustache, who looked just as happy as I tend to look.

21-07-2016_22-40-16

And I wasn’t the one who had to start the conversation. He waved at me, and this made my month.

21-07-2016_22-41-33

Not only was he a friendly guy, he made me laugh with his terrible jokes. Feeling hopeful, I invited him in to play chess. And guess what? He said yes!

21-07-2016_22-43-42

So in we walked, over to my table, where I took my seat. Just as he was about to sit down, something started beeping, and he jolted straight back up again. “Gotta go, smell you later!” He exclaimed, rushing out of the door. And then once again, I was alone.

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment